CALENDAR 1920 6 0 3
sound is not independent of the motion of its source, as is
the case with light. [25 059].
before October 18 TD from board of trustees of Zeitler’s Studienhaus-Zusatz-
Stiftung. Invited to its session of 25 October 1920 devoted
to selection of prize subjects and other business. There is a
note in Ilse Einstein’s hand “beantw. am 18. X. 20.” on the
left margin. [45 306].
October 19 1-page TDC. Income and accounts on stationery of KWIP
for the period 1 April to 15 September 1920. GyBP, I. Abt.,
Rep. 34, Nr. 13. [77 701].
3-page TLS from Reinhold Fürth. Requests financial help
from KWIP for a static determination of the elementary
electric charge with a special Eötvös torsion balance. GyBP,
I. Abt., Rep. 34, Nr. 2, Mappe Fürth. [78 037].
October 21 Arrives in Leyden.
October 25 1-page TLS from Victor Kopp. Forwards V. Arkad’ev’s let-
ter, and offers his services as mediator in Einstein’s corre-
spondence with Russian scientists. [43 112].
October 25–31 “Magnet-Woche” at the University of Leyden.
October 27 Presents “Ether and the Theory of Relativity” as inaugural
lecture in Leyden (Einstein 1920j) at 2 P.M. in the large
auditorium. [120 597].
October 28 2-page TLS from board of trustees of Zeitlers Studienhaus-
Zusatz-Stiftung. In copy attaches the business information
on the portion of the fund to be used for prizes. A board of
trustees with Einstein as representative of the DPG has been
set up to supervise fulfillment of the competition’s goals.
[45 307].
October 29 1-page TLS from Vieweg publishing house. They transfer
the galleys of the French translation of the 5th (?) edition of
Einstein 1917a that Gauthier-Villars et Cie. sent to Vieweg.
Methuen & Co. dispatched a copy of the American edition
both to Vieweg and to Einstein. [42 075].
October 30 Founding session of the Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen
Wissenschaft (consisting of the five German Academies of
Sciences, Verband der deutschen Hochschulen, the KWG,
the Verband Technisch-Wissenschaftlicher Vereine, GDNÄ
and other research institutions). Friedrich Schmidt-Ott
elected president.
Previous Page Next Page